Breaking News
Home / Spiritual / Nine Supreme Virtues of Gautama Buddha
Gautama Buddha

Nine Supreme Virtues of Gautama Buddha

Gautama Buddha is known as Siddhartha Gautama, Shakyamuni Buddha, or simply Buddha. He was born to Suddodana Tanu and Maya Devi in Kapilvastu kingdom in Nepal. At the age of 16, he married Yashodhara. Buddha is the founder of one of most popular religion ‘Buddhism’.


gauthama budha

Buddha Purnima also known as Vesak, Buddha Jayanti, is a Buddhist festival observed on the full moon in the month of Vaishaka. It is celebrated by Buddhist in countries like India, Sri Lanka, China, Japan, Nepal, Bhutan etc. It is marked as the birth of Buddha, enlightenment and death.


The Nine Virtues of Gautama Buddha are

  • Buddho – Awakened
  • Sammasambuddho – Fully Self-awakened
  • Vijja-carana-sampano – Endowed with Knowledge and conduct
  • Sugato – Well Spoken
  • Lokavidu – Who has knowledge of many worlds
  • Anuttaro Purisa-damma-sarathi – Excellent Trainer
  • Satthadeva-Manussanam – Teacher of Devas and Human
  • Bhagavathi – The Blessed one
  • Araham – Praiseworthy
  • Buddho


Buddho is a person who knows four noble truths.


  1. The truth of suffering
  2. The cause of suffering
  3. The cessation of suffering
  4. The way leading to cessation of suffering


  • Sammasambuddho


Buddha is perfectly self-awakened soul. The Sammasambuddho is the one who discovers and understand the Four Nobel Truth of life, without the guidance of teacher.


  • Vijja-carana-sampano

 Vijja means science or knowledge, ‘charana’ means conduct and ‘Sampanno’ means endowed with. Buddha says that one should be endowed with three or eight kind’s knowledge and fifteen kinds of conduct. He also lays importance that one should act as what he says.

  • Sugato

 Sugato is the one who is ‘well spoken’ or ‘well gone’. He is the one who is expert in art of choosing the right words, saying them at the correct time to the correct person. They believe in a concept that words spoken should be benefitted by listener.


The other meaning is that one should walk the best path to reach his final destination. He should travel from the path of suffering to freedom ie fully liberated soul.


  • Lokavidu


Lokavidu is a person who has knowledge about many worlds. Buddha knows how the world arises and cease. He knows how clashes and harmony happens in the world. He knows why people are trapped in the material world and how they can be saved from them.


  • Anuttaro Purisa-damma-sarathi

 Anuttaro means matchless, Purisa-damma refers to the person to whom Dhamma should be endowed, sarathi means leader. This means that Buddha is a capable leader who can bring wayward men to the path of righteousness.


  • Satthadeva-Manussanam


Buddha is the teacher of devas and men. He has many followers whom he led to the path of salvation. Hence Buddha is called as Universal teacher.


  • Bhagavathi

 Buddha is the person who is endowed with special powers. Buddha has acquired many merits like acts of sharing, ethical morality, patience, renunciation, wisdom, diligence, truthfulness, determination, loving-kindness and equanimity.


  • Araham

 Araham means the one who has eradicated all the defilements. Defilements mean bad thoughts and bad feelings. Buddha has conquered all the evil and rose to highest spiritual level. He has led the holy life, performed his duties perfectly, completely liberated through knowledge.


About admin

Check Also

Women’s Day Offer – 2017

 Women’s Day Offer – 2017   Sri Sankara Matrimony are celebrating ‘International Women’s Day’ a …